The Ernst & Young Social Entrepreneur of the Year Award recognizes talented individuals who have shown extraordinary leadership and innovation in building an organization to address the social needs of the central Texas community. The Award carries with it a $100,000 grant which is directed to the organization of the Award recipient.

The 2010 Award will be announced at the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year gala on Thursday, June 3, 2010 at the Austin Hilton Hotel, with over 700 leaders of the central Texas business, civic and philanthropic community in attendance.

Prior Year Winners
2009: Melvin White of Digital Workforce Academy
2008: Richard Halpin of AmericanYouthWorks
2007: Steven Jackobs of Capital IDEA
2006: Susan McDowell of LifeWorks
2005: Walter Moreau of Foundation Communities
2004: Margo Weisz of PeopleFund

An application for the 2010 Award can be downloaded here:

For questions regarding the nomination process or the information requested, please contact Ernst & Young directly via telephone at 512-473-1623,or via email at